Mounting an .iso in Vista

wanted to make a quick reference to the occasionally needed information – in Windows XP the tools for mounting .ISO’s do not function adequately in Vista – so here’s one that is supposed to

Here’s the scoop:  http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/mount-an-iso-image-in-windows-vista/

The referenced tool:  Virtual Clone Drive – http://www.elby.ch/fun/software/index.html

***Use this advise on your own discretion – I am not recommending it because I’ve yet to try it***

In fact please let me know of another program if you would like to recommend one.  Please leave a comment.

**late edit in Windows 7 timeframe which it is now – instead of that product I use and recommend one from Slysoft called Virtual Clone Drive and it is free.  This works in Vista and Windows7.  For creating an .iso from a CD/DVD I use ImgBurn which is also useful for taking an ISO and turning it into a CD/DVD.  In other words it does both things both ways.**

3 responses to “Mounting an .iso in Vista

  1. Dale,

    I’ve had excellent success with PowerISO (http://www.poweriso.com/) for ISO manipulation and mounting in Vista.

    It’s only $30 and well worth it.

    Regards,
    Darren

  2. I am happy I found your website on reddit. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbour were just preparing to do some research about this. I am happy to see such good information being shared for free out there.
    Best Regards,
    Brander from Milwaukee city

Leave a Reply

