Crisis control – disaster averted – you can reset an accidental mouse slip/click in the SBS 2008 “Migrate to Windows Small Business Server 2008” wizard! whew
Kudos to EMEA SBS TEam whom I’ve seen other good SBS 2008 content on this same blog.
**note** Open Windows Explorer ‘as Administrator’ to save the changes to the .xml
How to change/reset the status of Migration Tasks while migrating SBS 2003 to SBS 2008.
[Today's post comes to us courtesy Anshul Srivastava]
You are migrating to SBS 2008 from SBS 2003 by running SBS 2008 install in migration mode, following the steps described in the following Help file:
After you have installed Small Business Server 2008 in migration mode, you must run the Migration Wizard to migrate settings and data from the Source Server(SBS 2003) to the Destination Server(SBS 2008). This is done by clicking on ‘Migrate to SBS 2008′ link in the Windows SBS Console(shown below).
The Migration Wizard Home Window is shown below:
If you accidentally select ‘Task Completed’ for any of the tasks, this is how you can reset the status so that you may run it again:
The Migration Wizard uses the following file to determine the status of tasks:
C:\Program Files\Windows Small Business Server\Data\MigrationTasks.xml
If you want to re-run all the tasks, rename this file. Migration Wizard should not be running, otherwise you cannot rename the file. After renaming it, run the Migration Wizard, it should show ‘Not started’ for all the tasks.
If you want to reset the status of a specific task, for which you accidentally selected ‘Task completed’, open the MigrationTasks.xml file in notepad. Make sure Migration Wizard is not running. This is how the file looks like: …more <follow link below>